We start the exhibition program for 2024 with two parallel exhibitions by melanie bonajo (they/them) and Philipp Gufler.

melanie bonajo – School of Lovers
08/03/24 – 16/06/24

In Schule der Liebenden, melanie bonajo and the inclusive theatre HORA explored the crystal of intimacy in all its facets. Their journey resulted in an immersive installation that revolves around a video work made by melanie bonajo and sets the scene for workshops and a theatre play. The performers of the HORA ensemble have become experts on their own desire and, as fantastic teaching avatars, are able to impart knowledge and sensual experiences on the subject of love, intimacy and sexuality. A humorous, sensitive, empowering, genre- and gender bending experience that speaks to people with and without disabilities.

Philipp Gufler – Dis/Identification
08/03/24 – 16/06/24

Philipp Gufler's artistic work centres on the images and the history/histories of queer life - today and in the past. Historical personalities, developments and turning points from different periods of time enter into a dialogue and tell an intersectional queer history, most of which has not yet been written down. The references come from historical archives, newspapers, radio and television, from the literature and the aesthetic practices of LGBTQI+ movements, from queer theory and pop culture. Based on the new video installation "The Beginning of Identification, and its End", the exhibition at Kunsthalle Mainz gives an overview of Gufler's work from recent years.

 

Ari Benjamin Meyers – Always Rehearsing
04/07/24 – 20/10/24

In summer, the artist, composer, conductor and musician Ari Benjamin Meyers will be a guest at the Kunsthalle Mainz. Ari Benjamin Meyers' artistic excellence lies in his radical way of thinking music and art together. His work stems from his long-standing interest in thinking about composing, rehearsing, and making music beyond the concert stage and in exploring these practices in other spaces, such as exhibition spaces, political institutions and especially public spaces. Meyers uses the phrase "rehearsing the future" to describe the creative power and the potential of community building through composition, rehearsal and music-making. Always Reahearsing includes newly created, rearranged as well as existing works which can be seen and heard in the exhibitions spaces of the Kunsthalle Mainz. With The Notional Anthem, No. 1: Der Zollhafen Chor, a completely new series of works by the artist, the Kunsthalle leaves its building. It echoes into the city as Ari Benjamin Meyers forms a choir with visitors, staff, and the Kunsthalle's direct neighbours - the various residents and users of the Zollhafen area. Together they create a new work.

Den Auftakt 2024 machen zwei parallele Ausstellungen von melanie bonajo (they/them) und Philipp Gufler.

melanie bonajo – Schule der Liebenden
08/03/24 – 16/06/24

Mit Schule der Liebenden widmeten sich melanie bonajo und das inklusive Theater HORA dem Thema der Intimität in all seinen Facetten. Das Ergebnis ihrer Reise ist eine immersive Installation, die sich um eine Videoarbeit von melanie bonajo dreht und den Rahmen für Workshops und ein Theaterstück bildet. Performer*innen aus dem HORA Ensemble sind zu Expert*innen ihrer eigenen Lust geworden und vermitteln als phantastische Lehr-Avatare Wissen und sinnliche Erfahrungen rund um das Thema Liebe, Intimität und Sexualität. Eine humorvolle, einfühlsame, ermutigende, genre- und genderübergreifende Erfahrung, die Menschen mit und ohne Behinderungen anspricht.

Philipp Gufler – Dis/Identification
08/03/24 – 16/06/24

Im Zentrum von Philipp Guflers künstlerischer Arbeit stehen Bilder und Geschichte(n) queeren Lebens – heute und in der Vergangenheit. Historische Persönlichkeiten, Entwicklungen und Einschnitte aus unterschiedlichen Zeitspannen treten in einen Dialog und erzählen eine intersektionale queere Geschichte, wie sie meist noch nicht niedergeschrieben wurde. Die Referenzen stammen aus historischen Archiven, Zeitungen, Radio und Fernsehen, aus der Literatur und den ästhetischen Praktiken von LGBTQI+ Bewegungen, aus der Queer-theorie und der Popkultur. Die Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Mainz zeigt ausgehend von der neuen Videoinstallation „The Beginning of Identification, and its End“ einen Überblick über Guflers Schaffen der letzten Jahre. 

 

Ari Benjamin Meyers  Always Rehearsing
04/07/24 – 20/10/24

Im Sommer 2024 ist der Künstler, Komponist, Dirigent und Musiker Ari Benjamin Meyers zu Gast in der Kunsthalle Mainz. Es geht damit disziplinenübergreifend und genre-sprengend weiter. Ari Benjamin Meyers künstlerische Exzellenz liegt in der radikalen Art des Zusammendenkens von Musik und Kunst. Seine Arbeiten entstammen seinem langjährigen Interesse daran, Komponieren, Proben und Musizieren über Konzertbühnen hinaus zu denken und diese Praktiken in anderen Räumen, wie Ausstellungshäuser, politische Institutionen und besonders den öffentlichen Raum zu erkunden. Meyers verwendet den Ausdruck „die Zukunft proben", um die eigene Gestaltungskraft und das Potenzial der Gemeinschaftsbildung durch Komposition, Proben und Musizieren zu beschreiben. Unter dem Titel Always Reahearsing werden in den Ausstellungsräumen neu geschaffene, neu arrangierte und existierende Arbeiten zu sehen bzw. zu hören sein. Mit einer komplett neuen Werkserie des Künstlers - The Notional Anthem, Nr. 1: Der Zollhafen Chor - öffnet sich die Kunsthalle Mainz in den Außenraum. Sie tönt hinaus in die Stadt, indem Ari Benjamin Meyers mit den Besuchenden, den Mitarbeitenden und den direkten Nachbar*innen der Kunsthalle Mainz – den unterschiedlichen Bewohner*innen und Nutzer*innen des Zollhafenareals - einen Chor bildet und gemeinsam ein neues Werk erarbeitet.